University of Mumbai

Established on 18 th July 1857, the University of Mumbai is a premier institution and the largest among the first three modern Universities in India. It operates from five campuses and caters to more than 7 lakh students from rural, tribal, hilly, urban, and metropolitan areas. The university has 792 affiliated colleges, 54 departments and centres offering UG and PG degree programmes , and another 5 centres and chairs offering short terms courses and UGC Human Resource Development Centre. It conducts research relevant to social, constitutional, regional and cultural needs. The University of Mumbai’s Academy of Administrative Careers offers coaching and guidance to students for competitive examinations. The university has three constituent colleges — Sir J.J. College of Architecture in Mumbai and two model colleges in Mandangad, Dist. Ratnagiri, Dist. Sindhudurg. It covers a vast geographical region that extends from Mumbai, to Mumbai Suburban region, Thane, Ratnagiri, Raigad, Sindhudurg, Palghar, Nashik, Pune, Silvassa and Goa.

The University runs 519 undergraduate/postgraduate courses and professional courses out of which 126 undergraduate and postgraduate (excluding pre-doctoral and doctoral) programmes are offered by university departments. The University of Mumbai is the only university in India to start the ‘Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences’ in collaboration with the Department of Atomic Energy.

The University has produced five Bharat Ratna Awardees and many Padma Awardees. The University of Mumbai’s list of alumni is a veritable roll call of honour extending across the fields of law, politics, industry, cinema and sports. It includes Mahatma Gandhi, B. R. Ambedkar, Balgangadhar Tilak, Madadev Govind Ranade, Gopal Krishna Gokhale, Dadabhai Naoroji, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Cornelia Sorabji, Dadasaheb Phalke, Homi Bhabha, Jamsetji Tata, Vikram Sarabhai, M. C. Chagla, Pratibha Patil, Jagdish Bhagwati, Mukesh Ambani, Aditya Kumar Mangalam Birla, Vinita Bali, Sunil Gavaskar, Shabana Azmi, and Anjali Mandar Bhagwat. These distinguished alumni attest to the university’s manifold achievements as an intellectual, cultural and scientific powerhouse of the country.

The university has won regional, national and international acclaim with its distinguished faculty, academic excellence, quality research output, excellent placements, distinguished alumni, inclusive outreach, conservation of ecology and cultural heritage while adhering to global standards and contributing significantly to local societal needs.